Thursday, December 15, 2011

How many of you think that whiskey, vodka or any other 80 proof liquor is flammable?

(I hope the end doesn't get cut off...) (Please, before you comment, test this theory yourself... PLEASE...). I read another post on this site where EVERYONE stated that 80 proof alcohol, whether its whiskey or vodka or gin or whatever is flammable. Really, its not. How do I know this...? Well, for a bunch of reasons reasons. Number 1), 80 proof means 40% alcohol by volume. The alcohol is so diluted that the concentration becomes non-flammable, but if you don't believe me, again, please test it yourself. (A lot of the time, mixing many of the other widely used flammable liquids with water is like, well, the term "Oil & Water Don't Mix"; because of the different densities, they separate, with the lighter density liquid floating to the top. While alcohol is less dense than water, its close enough to mix completely, causing the dilution. However, water & a lot of other flammable liquids don't mix, this is why some polluted lakes, "catch on fire" because the accelerant is less dense than water & sits on top. One match and *poof* "Lake of Fire"). Number 2), when I was a teen in N.C., my pyromaniac friends & I usually had NOTHING to do but play with matches, so one night we ran out of lighter fluid (and homeless people..... I'm kidding, I'm kidding...) & decided to try the whiskey we had which, as you probably guessed it, would not light no matter what we did to it, & neither would the Vodka. And Number 3), my stupid friend (now because of what he thought, but rather what he did next) also thought regular liquor WAS flammable & before we could stop him, he threw a Molotov tail made out of a fairly nice, nearly full bottle of whiskey & a pair of someone's dirty underwear at a nearby wall & succeeded in doing nothing but waste a very nice bottle of hooch and, I guess, Christen the wall. Whenever you see people doing that trick where they take a mouthful of alcohol, put a flame to their mouths & spit out fire, thats usually Bacardi 151 rum (Meaning 151 proof) or Everclear (which is generally 190 Frickin' Proof. That'll put some hair on your chest. And, if you use it topically, it'll take it right off again...). THATS flammable, let me tell you. I am not sure if 100 proof vodka, like Mr. Boston's, is flammable, but it can only increase the chance of igniting. So, next time you see someone pouring 80 proof whiskey all over a bar or something in a movie & then he lights it on fire, thats a lie. Think about it: back when you could smoke in bars, with the amount of presumably flammable alcohol being served, lying in puddles on the floor & the counter & being exhaled by patrons, the average bar would go up like bomb is that were true (When they serve those flaming drinks, again, thats usually Bacardi 151, not normal 80 proof liquor). And just one more for common sense, if it were flammable, no bar in the WORLD would be able to get insurance. So, should you test what I tested under controlled cirstances to glean the truth for yourself...? Yes, but please use goggles & have a fire extinguisher nearby, just in case. A lot of time, accidents can happen. I was young & stupid when I initially did mine, so... And then I did them all again later when I was bartender, but that was just for fun... 'Sure do miss that bar, but they had great fire insurance, so, y'know, everything worked out in the end...). Okay, one last thing, please, Please, PLEASE don't comment on a hunch or whatever. Tell me your answer after your results have been verified by a quick test. Most people have SOME liquor around the house or some thats easily obtainable. Take a capful, strike a match & test this theory yourself. I'm just amazed by how many people think it is flammable, but have never been in the presence of an example or done their own test. And it just irks me when people says, "I don't need to test, research, look up and/or verify what I know because I don't have to. I'm know I'm right...!". Just please back up your theories with proof is all I ask, but, for God's sake, be careful... Godspeed to you cute little monkeys...

No comments:

Post a Comment